





1st Webinar Series on GEOTECHNICAL EARTHQUAKE ENGINEERING (November 2021 to October 2022)

Organized under Prof. Shamsher Prakash Chair, IIT Roorkee

As a part of Diamond Jubilee Celebrations of ISET

About 1st WS-GEE:

The 1st Webinar Series on Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering (GEE) will be held online. A number of webinars by academician, eminent scientist or practicing engineer of international repute will be delivered online. In last two decades, activities and requirement of GEE has increased in India due to many big infrastructure projects including high rise buildings, bridges, dams and power plants. Therefore, this webinar series will help in enhancing the knowledge of faculty, students and engineers to deal with geotechnical issues during earthquakes.

Themes:

Geotechnical issues during earthquakes, Dynamic soil properties-measurement and evaluation, Ground response analysis-linear and nonlinear, Liquefaction of soils during earthquakes, Soil improvement for remediation of seismic hazards, Earthquake resistant design of foundations: dynamic bearing capacity, foundation alternatives, code provisions, Seismic Soil-Structure-Interaction – including pile groups, Seismic slope stability – landslides and slope failures, Seismic design of embankment and earth dams, Dynamic earth pressure and Seismic design of retaining walls Seismic Safety of underground and Buried Structures and Pipelines, Vibrations of machine foundations, Seismic Microzonation, Geotechnical Issues including tsunami for offshore structures, Public Awareness, Outreach for GEE hazards, Early Warning Systems for Landslides and Liquefaction

Honorary Founder Patron Prof. Shamsher Prakash

Professor Emeritus of Civil Engineering Missouri Science and Technology, Rolla, USA

Patrons

Prof. A.K. Chaturvedi Director, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee

Prof. T.G. Sitharam

President, Indian Society of Earthquake Technology Director, Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati

Dr. N. Gopalakrishnan Director, CSIR-Central Building Research Institute, Roorkee

Co-Patrons

Prof. Pankaj Agarwal, Head, DEQ, IIT Roorkee **Prof. Mahendra Singh,** Chair, IGS Roorkee Chapter

Supported by





Honorary Chair Prof. Ikuo Towhata Univ. of Tokyo (TC203 Represent.)

Chair **Prof. B.K. Maheshwari** DEQ, IIT Roorkee & Vice President, ISET

Co-Chairs

Dr. V.A. Sawant, CED, IIT Roorkee, Secretary, ISET Dr. Ravi S. Jakka, DEQ, IIT Roorkee (ECM, ISET) Dr. Rajib Sarkar, IIT (ISM), Dhanbad (ECM, ISET) Dr. Kaustav Chatterjee, IIT Roorkee (ECM, IGS RKE Ch) Dr. Ritesh Kumar, DEQ, IIT Roorkee Mr. Manojit Samanta, CSIR-CBRI, Roorkee

Extended Organizing Committee All faculty of DEQ, EC members of ISET and IGS Roorkee

Editors of the Proceedings (Springer) Prof. B.K. Maheshwari and Prof. T.G. Sitharam

For more details:

https://iitr.ac.in/geewebinars/

🛛 gee.webinars@iitr.ac.in